Week 10: Goff for MVP?

The Los Angeles Rams will win the Super Bowl in 2020.

Well, I kinda believe…wow…I believe that?? Not just playoffs anymore?? The actual Super Bowl??!!

It was pretty crazy that somebody from Sports Illustrated predicted the Astros would win this year’s World Series years ago. So is it crazy to start predicting a Rams Super Bowl victory now??

Anyway, I just wanted to tie the Dodgers/Astros World Series to this week’s LA vs. Houston NFL game. Dodgers lost the World Series of course, so I was elated (you remember that I’m a Giants fan?). However, I’m scared the Rams may have contracted the Dodgers’ infamous playoff-choking disease. Yeahh, I’m getting wayyyy too far ahead of myself.

I’m writing this on Tuesday because I missed this game on Sunday. I was busy with schoolwork, plus I had tickets to the USWNT vs Canada game at San Jose (we won, I had fun). I didn’t care about missing this Texans/Rams game…well I did…but not really….because I knew we were going to win.

Yeah, Deshaun Watson (prolly rookie of the year before the injury) was out, but I’m starting to believe in our squad so I predicted a W either way (It’s the McVay era baby).

Today I rewatched the game (thanks to Reddit). There’s still a lot to learn about our team, so I had to watch the game.

LOS ANGELES, CA – NOVEMBER 12: Robert Woods #17 of the Los Angeles Rams reacts as he runs to the end zone to score a touchdown during the game against the Houston Texans at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum on November 12, 2017 in Los Angeles, California. (Photo by Sean M. Haffey/Getty Images)
  • This game made me appreciate what we have. First, Jared Goff. I’m thankful that he is healthy. The Texans had a spark with Watson playing superb, and as you can see now, they’re not as great. Houston’s new QB was Tom Savage and it probably cost them the game. Savage started the game with a sack fumble caused by Aaron Donald (can you blame Tom really?), but he compounded his troubles with two interceptions in the red zoneee…the absolute worst place to throw a pick.
  • Meanwhile, Goff continued to do what he does best: Run the offense and make the right plays. If the deep ball was there, like the bomb to Robert Woods, he took it. If he had to check it down and hit a 5 yard out route or slant, he did it. He moved the chains and didn’t turn the ball over. That’s part of the reason why we’ve been winning. Is Goff for MVP something we gotta look at??
  • Then the Texans kicker…I forgot his name, but he missed some easy FG’s this game. That made me appreciate Greg Zuerlein, who’s been fantastic this season. I’ve been showing love to the special teams this year, but I gotta give more respect to Legatron.
  • If you add up all these parts on our team contributing, you get a blowout and an easy W.
  • And yeah we did the Trifecta again this game. Offense, defense, and special teams came through.
  • Other notes, Robert Woods is that dude. Continues to be Goff’s #1 WR.
  • The turnovers our defense came up with were excellent.
  • McVay continues to be great with some of his playcalling. Two very good screen plays, one to Gurley and another with Andrew Whitworth going 20 yards downfield to block for Sammy Watkins. Although, I’m still confused about the punt fake pass McVay called up.
LOS ANGELES, CA – NOVEMBER 12: Los Angeles Rams Wide Receiver Sammy Watkins (12) runs the ball touchdown in the third quarter during an NFL game between the Houston Texans and the Los Angeles Rams on November 12, 2017 at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum in Los Angeles, CA. (Photo by Chris Williams/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images)

With the game against the Vikings next week, we begin a very tough part of our schedule. I truly believe this is when we’ll see what this team is really about. Til then, go Rams!

Leave a comment